skip navigation

May 13, 2015 – Canvass of Election






A Special City Council Meeting was held on Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 12:00 noon, at the City of Seymour Conference Room, 301 N. Washington Street, Seymour, TX  76380.


Mayor Nan Gilbert-Mathis called the meeting to order and roll call at 12:01p.m.


Council present: Mayor Nan Gilbert-Mathis, Council members Les Hons, Monty Glass, Jon Hrncirik and David Horton who arrived at 12:05 p.m.


Counsel present: No Counsel was present at this meeting.


City Staff: City Administrator Steve Biedermann and City Secretary Conchita Torrez.


Guest(s): Greg Shumate, Kathy Harper (Election Judge) and Matt Gwinn.


  1. Canvass of Election Returns regarding May 9, 2015, General Election for two-year

terms for Mayoral Position, Councilmember Place #2 and Councilmember  Place #4 as

reviewed by Council Canvass Subcommittee: Councilman Monty Glass and Councilman

Les Hons.  Presenting the canvass of election results is Election Judge Kathy Harper.


Kathy Harper read the results regarding the City of Seymour General Election 2015. Results

read as follows:

Mayoral Position (Unopposed)   Nan Gilbert-Mathis         Total votes  220


Council place 2                            David Horton                  Total votes  152

Brad Tilley                      Total votes  105

Incumbent David Horton was declared the winner.


Council place 4                             Greg Shumate                 Total votes  157

Billy Henricks                 Total votes  103

Opponent Greg Shumate was declared the winner.


No action was required on this agenda item.


  1. Consider Approving a Resolution Declaring the Results of 2015 City of Seymour



A motion was made by Council member Les Hons, second by Council member Monty

Glass to approve Resolution No. 1398, declaring the results of the City of Seymour 2015

General Election.   Motion passed unanimously.








  1. Statement of Elected Officer, Oath of Office, Certificate of Election issued to Mayoral

position, Council place # 2 and Council place #4 by City Secretary.


City Secretary Conchita Torrez presented the Statement of Elected Officer and Certificates

of Election to Nan Gilbert-Mathis for the Mayoral Place, to David Horton, Council place 2

and Greg Shumate, Council place 4. Each applicant was sworn in by City Secretary Torrez

to their respective positions.


  1. Discuss, consider and take action regarding appointment of Mayor Pro-Tem, for the City

of Seymour, 2015-2016 City Council year.


Motion made by Council member Jon Hrncirik, second by Council member David Horton to

appoint Monty Glass as Mayor Pro-Tem for the City Council year 2015-2016.  Motion

passed unanimously.


  1. Adjournment by Mayor Pro-Tem Glass to adjourn meeting at 12:15 p.m., seconded by

Council member Les Hons.  Motion passed unanimously.




Passed and approved on this the 21st day of May, 2015.



Mayor Nan Gilbert-Mathis




City Secretary Conchita Torrez