June 29, 2021 – Special Called City Council Meeting Minutes

Sep 14, 2021



JUNE 29, 2021  

A Special Called/Budget Workshop Meeting of City Council was held on Tuesday, June 29, 2021, at 7:00 p.m., 800 E. Morris Street, Portwood Art & Civic Center, Seymour, Texas.

Call to Order/Roll Call/Pledge of Allegiance by Mayor Jon Hrncirik

Council present: Mayor Jon Hrncirik, MPT Monty Glass, Council Member Lan Winn, Council Member Les Hons, Council Member Brian Broome, and Council Member Jay Hudson

Counsel present: City Attorney was not present at this meeting.

City Staff present: City Administrator Jeffrey Brasher Ed. D, City Secretary Conchita Torrez, Part-time Police Officer Chris Jimenez

Guest(s): Mark Daniel, Mark McCord, Charles Rose, MK Fair, Tammie Glass, Todd Hrncirik, Nancy Boone

1. City Council to review and discuss the City of Seymour 2021-2022 Budget, with City Administrator Jeffrey Brasher, ED.D.  No action will be taken on this agenda item.    

Mayor Hrncirik passed the meeting to City Administrator Jeffrey Brasher Ed. D, to begin the process of explaining the budget.  This budget is by no means completed and city council will have 3 or 4 more meetings until council feels satisfied with the budget.

Mr. Brasher went on to explain that he had met with each department supervisor and went over their needs to be able to function and make this community a safer and better place.

The departments need the resources and equipment to complete their work.

Mr. Brasher and City Council went over each department and approved and removed some line items they did not feel were necessary at this time.  After reviewing each departments needs and goals, changes were made (which are not set in stone) City Administrator Brasher reminded the council that tough decisions will need to be made and priorities set for the 2021-2022 Fiscal City of Seymour Budget.

At this time , mayor entertained a motion to adjourn.

2. Adjournment of meeting

Motion made by MPT Monty Glass, seconded by Council Member Lan Winn to adjourn at 9:37 p.m.  

Mayor Jon Hrncirik


Conchita Torrez, City Secretary, TRMC